Why Writing New Year Resolutions Are A Waste Of My Time & Yours

Posted: December 28, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

(This post I posted last year on new Years Resolutions and what I think of them. Well, apparently this post go deleted so I am reposting it.)

2015 is finally here and it is that time when we make those lofty resolutions that will come to a crashing halt by the end of the month.

“A firm decision to do or not to do something.” This is the definition of Resolution, from New Oxfords Dictionary. How is something you stop after a month a firm decision? It’s not. Since this is about writing New Year’s Resolutions, some might think this will be different. Maybe for some people, but for majority I think it will fall into the same area as general New Year’s Resolutions.

Here’s why I think this, when people make a New Year’s Resolution, they like the idea of doing it, getting in shape, writing that novel, whatever. However, rarely do they think about how to accomplish it other then find a gym. It is possible more people do think this through, but the thing they almost always forget to think about is how they are going get it to fit into their every day life. Which is why most resolutions fail, they are too busy to add something. Simple solution Randy Ingermanson suggests is when you add something new you need to drop something old.

If you want other reasons why, a quick Google search brought me to these sites. New Year Resolutions Don’t Work: Here’s Why, 10 Reasons Why You Don’t Stick to Your Resolutions. Let me summaries the reasons:

Going it Alone, Extremely Lofty Resolutions, Giving up too Easily, Time Management, Financial Burden, Unrealistic Resolutions, No Plan, Lack of Honesty, Wrong Perspective, Not Believing in Yourself, They’re all about what you think you should do, Resolutions are like goals, There’s no motivation or commitment, The timing’s all-wrong.

I could list more reasons, but I am not. I do not agree with one of the reasons listed above I am sure you can figure out which one it is, since it is in bold. Some might agree with that, the reasons that came after the point was not well thought through and if the writer did, they did a bad job of explaining their reasons. My experiences and others I know may have a goal, but they don’t break that goal into something achievable. I want to lose 20 lbs. by June is great and sounds like a good goal. Yet when that is all the goal is and no game plan or smaller goals to help one get to the ultimate goal it is doomed to fail. How about I want to lose 20 lbs. by June and I am going to work out three times a day for thirty minutes. I want to lose ten pounds by the end of February since I will be busy in March and this way I still have two months to lost the rest of the weight any I may gain back. Now that sounds like a plan.

I don’t make Resolutions, I make goals I want to accomplish by the end of the year, and most of the goals are made halfway through the year. My best example was this past year I think it was in May, maybe a month sooner, not sure I added up all the words I have written since 2001. Found out that I was just shy of a million words written by just less then a 100k. I decided that my goal was to break a million words by the end of the year. I posted it on my old blog, Crzywrter.Wordpress.com that I still need to delete now that I think about it. Anyways, I put a tracker on the side and while it was never posted on the blog my personal goal was to hit a million before the end of summer and I did.

If you feel like you need to do anything for the New Year in writing, plan out a few goals of what you want to accomplish with your writing. No writing the next Harry Potter shouldn’t be one of them. Unless you have been working on a novel for about five years or more, there is little chance of writing that this year. I only say five years since that is how long J.K Rowling spent working on Harry Potter before she published the first book. Even then it took to about book three before it really exploded. I have a few suggestions for goals based on your experience further down.

This post turned out to be longer then I expected so I decide to break it up into two parts, this was rant on New Years Resolutions. Part two will be suggestions for writing goals this year.

isight-2014-12-28-22-47.png

Leave a Reply

