It’s Monday, the worst day of the week.         Oh wait, it isn’t Monday and I forgot to post this blog. Well, I am going to blame it on it being a three day weekend and call today Montuesday. I would say I was busy working on something far more important, but I wasn’t. Something I enjoy doing in my free time and got caught up in it on Friday evening and next thing you know it is Monday at ten and I haven’t written yet. I did write, a few words. I do mean a few, but I wrote.
        This is my first post of my new Craft posts that will be posted on Mondays. Probably not a good idea that start this on a three day weekend, but also maybe it is. Since I do nothing work related on my weekends, so to modify my posting schedule. Craft posts will be on Mondays except for a three day Weekend then they will be post the Tuesday.
        Today’s post is on the Sanderson Lectures, Brandon Sanderson Lectures. (I have been watching 2012 lectures.) Google his name and you will find him with ease. He is one of the big names in Fantasy, and you can argue whose name is bigger, but he is right up there. He is known such works as: Stormlight Archive, Mistborn, Elantris, Steelheart, and the last three Wheel of Time Novels. He is also known for Sandersons Laws on Magic. You can find essay’s written on by Sanderson by Clicking Here.
        Have you ever wanted to go to a big writing conference to listen to lectures by some of your favorite authors? I know have and still do, though funds are too short for me to have done so. Well, these lectures are the next best thing. For one instead of an hour or maybe two-hour lecture on one topic, you get thirteen. Well twenty-eight since the link is to a page of two years of lectures on the same topics.
        The lectures covers breakdown in genre’s how to build sympathetic characters, description, differences on view point, how to connect with authors and editors at conferences. The different ways to map out your story, and yes he talks about his own way. The writing advice and examples from his experience is worth the time to watch.
        I want to focus on one area that I found the most helpful, it came from either lecture four on character or seven on story structure. I believe it was four. Anyway, Sanderson was talking about how to progress and using each sentence to do so. I have heard this before, it is one thing authors I constantly say you need to be doing. However, none have ever explained it in a way like Sanderson did. He said that every sentence should either progress character, plot or setting. Bam! The light flew on.
        Never have I ever thought about it that way. Every time I heard an author say this, it was always plot related. If a word, sentence or paragraph didn’t progress the story then it needed to be cut. Sure you want character to shine through I figured, but only if the progressed the plot. Sanderson seems to say different, especially when it comes to setting. Never thought about progressing setting.
        What really helped was few days after watching this lecture, I was working out and listening to the final book of the Mistborn Trilogy, The Hero of Ages. As I was on the elliptical I started to notice how each of the sentence was devoted to one of the three areas. It was more of a paragraph then sentence. One thing I started to do while writing is try to keep do this somewhat. My main focus is to get the draft done and will use this as more of a focus in the second draft. It became clear long ago that I am going to re-write the whole thing. Have anyone ever thought about this, or read this something long the lines?
        I could go on about other areas I learnt some interesting ideas for character creation, plotting though I accidentally stumbled on to his way this summer. Even his lessons on the business side, which if you have something to read get out there I suggest you watch. Remember, this is 2012 and 2013, and things change in only three years. Give the lectures a watch and tell me what you think.
        If you want to learn from a trade professional on writing I suggest that you give these lectures a look. While Sanderson will say multiple times while he is well known as a top name in Fantasy he isn’t as big as George R.R. Martin or other authors that broke out in the early nineties. Regardless of how big of a name he is, this is a rare chance to learn from someone who is a master of writing. Also, if you’re a fan of his he talks about his books a lot as examples and as well other authors. I know these lectures are going to be a resource I continue to mine for the next several years.

wpid-isight-2015-10-9-11-40.png
wpid-1____isight-2015-10-9-11-40.png

Leave a Reply

