It is Saturday and I am posting Friday’s late. Damn week, it so weird. Working out hard and tiring myself out and napping through the day and then not going to bed at a decent hour. I got to change that. I hope you enjoyed my Craft Post on Brandon Sanderson Lectures went live Tuesday. Hope you give them a look, I know you will walk away learning something. Ironically, that post sort of influenced today’s post. Well not the Lectures, the author, Sanderson himself.
        Have you ever sat down to talk to a fellow writer/author and you walked away on fire and excited about your own work? Maybe you the two of you or the group talked about their writing process and you saw something know will work for you, once you adapt it to fit you. Or, the talk was about their work in progress and one of their ideas you feel in love with and it would solve the problem with your current work in progress.
        I call this the Writers Effect, because the creative energies or juices or whatever literation you want to use are linked and working. Connections your subconscious has been working on in the back of your mind finally make the leap to the Conscious. This has happened to me over the years, and the most recently this past two weeks.
        From when I found the Sanderson Lectures, I have looking into his other works other then Mistborn, and came across his Cosmere. The Cosmere is what Sanderson calls his universe. Now he has works that don’t fit into the Cosmere as they don’t fit into what he is doing. Like Stephen King, Marvel Comic, D. J. MacHale (Though this was not a real universe just took many ideas for stories and put them into one series), all have done this.
        King, linked his through his Dark Tower series and all of his works fit into his multiverse. Sanderson only certain works fit into the Cosmere, and he slowly building up to something huge. Each book or series are their own stories, but there are small Cosmere Easter Eggs. He does this, so that someone with no Cosmere knowledge can pick up the books and enjoy them.
        One of the things that make Sanderson different is he built up the Cosmere up from the ground up so there is no shoehorning elements to fit in. Finally, someone who loves continuity as much as I do. This is what I originally envision in my multiverse, Narthex series, the old code-name for it. It was to be 7 Series complete and then a Narthex series of 10 books that link them each together with new character building up a larger story going on.
        Reading about the Cosmere, got me thinking about my own writing multiverse. After making some progress a few years ago, I hit a wall. With no advancements, I decided to break away and focus on a smaller piece of it and that piece World of Five Worlds arc. Then something hit me, what if I make this the focus of that multiverse story?
        The World of Five Worlds arc came from making some progression in a few worlds, and then not. Then returning to my first series I wrote in 2004-5. After hitting some issues this summer when I tried to write Seeing through the Veil, I mapped out the history of that world and came up with how the World of Five Worlds came about. There was only a problem, the event couldn’t fit into what I already planned for Narthex.
        My thought was its happening and I can find a solution to it later. I think the solution is this is the actual story, not what little I had developed as background. Wednesday, I spent thinking about this and if I was going to do this I need to have all my projects in development to figure this out. I wrote down every series name in my project folder, including my long gestating Manga/Anime Series Forbidden Realm. I came up with 13 series. One of these series is an incomplete short story series I started back when I first started Demon World (Daemonium). Why the folder was in books, I have no clue. It will be interesting to see how it turns out since what little I have will not be used.
        I hit up my idea bank Word doc that only has four ideas, one is a movie/comic book ideas and another that already had a series in the works. I took the two others and added them to the list, making 15. At this time I realized I two series I have been working on in my head and knew would write someday didn’t have a folder. They do now, 17 series.
        With all my series listed, I needed to lock down what worlds would be in the World of Five Worlds. At this point only three worlds were locked. Seeing Through the Veil, Dragon Nations, and Daemonium. Two others I figured, but they didn’t make it. My working Pirate series did and another story world, which was suppose to be a prequel to my immortal combat series, no longer did.
        I had my five worlds to focus on, but something told me not to limit the story to these five worlds. From when I started to mix it up, I thought to add more worlds making it the World of Seven Worlds, or ten, twelve, etc. I settled on five for two reasons. The first, I liked the World of Five Worlds. Second, when has the number five ever really used in something, it seems to me numbers like 3, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, and so on are more often. This lead to a new question, what to do with the rest of the worlds?
        The question didn’t go unanswered for long, as all stories I ever write will exist in Vesania, name for my multiverse. For those must know, it is Latin for Madness. Only these seventeen worlds are important to the larger story I want to tell. I came up with the idea of a cluster a sphere of a thousand worlds with is surrounded by a void of no other worlds. Five worlds in one world, and then twelve other separate worlds making seventeen all having an important role, though some will have larger roles then other. Another problem quickly came to the front of my mind. I only had 16 worlds, as the Marks of Eilira doesn’t count.
        The reason Marks of Eilira doesn’t count along with 16 series is, because I have larger plans for it. This series had a large role in my old Narthex series and I was not about to toss that away. The world in the series isn’t a world it is something else. With Marks of Eilira out, I needed one more series to make 18 in total, but twelve in the cluster not part of the World of Five Worlds. Thanks to my amazing mind, the final series was found.
        The solution came from a dream, actually two dreams. One from a month or two ago about a King who claims to be god and his own church claims he is only the hand of god. The dream was over five days of how evil he is. The second dream I have had over the last few days. A pure hearted night, on his way back to his kingdom after being left behind after a battle. Through his journey, his loyalty to his queen is no longer due to someone he falls for but leaves behind only run into her again at the capital.
        On Thursday night, I mapped out a novella prequel about the King and those five days and will setup his ultimate plan that will feed into second dream. After some developing the novella outline, I like the direction. The whole series needs a lot of development, but it is better then just having a story with an idea and nothing else.
        Have you ever had this level of the Writer Effect influence your own writing? What are your thoughts on having a multiverse where all your stories exist in?

        This post was lot longer then I thought it would be, so here is a summary on my writing for the week. For the 8th week in a row I have made my week. The bug to write on the weekend is still nibbling in the back of mine, so I am going to try to finish up Section 3 by the end of the weekend. This will allow me to start section 5 on Monday. We will see.
        The other big thing is my constantly locking in how the scene I’m writing each day or part of a scene is going well. Once I have made up mind I start to write the words seem to speed out. This is great, because too many times have I hated writing because I just couldn’t figure out how something was going to happen. This also allow for in the moment writing so I don’t feel like everything is planned out and can’t be creative.
        Lastly, I am having an internal struggle with this draft. Normally when big changes, like moving a whole series of scenes to a different part of the book I would have to stop and go back and make the change. This time, I am not. I know events in section 1 will be completely re-written in draft 2, but I wrote those ideas down and keep plugging forward. The struggle is should I make the changes I know are going to happen in those future scenes?
I am not, because as convinced as I know the revisions will be made, I need to finish this draft as it is with the scene list because who knows if a something will come up that will make the scenes or events as they are not work. I did this in one of the drafts of Marks of Eilira. Half way through I made changes to the end and pointed the story towards it and without adding the added scenes until after the book was finished and before the start of the 2nd draft. It caused too many problems. Has anyone else had this problem?

        Check back to Monday, as I will have my Craft post up on Monday this week. I thought I would be posting on one topic, but now I am thinking about another on stealing ideas from others. We will see. Have a good weekend.

wpid-isight-2015-10-17-19-11.png

Leave a Reply

