NaNo Week 3, Decide and Write

Posted: November 16, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

        This weeks Craft Post is going to be short and sweet. We are in week three of NaNoWriMo and I bet it is getting tough. It is for me. If you read Friday’s post, you know after Monday I didn’t write anything for NaNoWriMo for four days. Nothing, I was a day a head in the word count and now I am three days behind thanks to yesterday I got some major word written. Are you still on track? Are you making your word count goal of a 1667 words a day? I hope you are, because I have this horrible feeling knowing this time last week I was a head of the game and now I am behind. For all of you who are behind you know that feeling.
        I am going share today something I just learnt in the last two months about writing. The title gives it away. Decide and write. You maybe asking what the hell does that mean? I know, and I am going to tell you. Please note this works for me because I have already done the outlining process with a breakdown of scenes filling in the gaps. I’m sure it could work in other ways, but I am telling it how I use it. Let be start with a quick background. I know, background. That is never quick and always boring. I know and I will do my best to try to keep it not boring. No promises.
        If look at my scenes list and my outline, you will see I only have a brief description of what happens in the scene. No Kiana does this or travels through twenty different passages through an underground cave and half were wrong causing her to backtrack. I have something like that in my scene list. It says Kiana and Sage enter the cave and maneuver through traps until one force Kiana into another that causes her to break her leg. That’s it, nothing more, which means I have to come up with those traps and the path while writing. Something like doesn’t work well with me. Normally I do detail planning for something like this, but not this time. By the way I’m using this scene as I just wrote it last night. It turned out great.
        Why, am I telling you this? For years I am not good an coming up with things directly the spot. I need to know the scene in great detail to write it. Not this time around. For most of Seeing Through the Veil I wrote by coming to scenes with little details like the example above and having to figure out moments before I started to write it how it was going to work. The first few times I had rack my brain to figure it out. I had a few ideas and finally I just forced myself to write those ideas or I was never going to write that day. What happened you may be wondering. I flew through the scene at turbo speed. I have been doing that a lot and it works out great. In the scene last night, I wrote Kiana and Sage moving through cave that leads to a tight passages to get to a larger cavern and guess what was in that cavern? No traps. Yep, while I planned in my outline phase to have traps I only had one. Fog that slowly covered the cavern floor and eventually rose up to their eye level making it hard to see and Kiana didn’t see the floor drop out for ten feet into a sloped floor where she rolled down to the end and landed on her leg and broke it.
        I came up with that in the morning yesterday, and I tried to think of other traps and couldn’t. When I got home from work, I sat down and went with it and it actually worked out better then having fifteen traps that I would have ripped off from other books or movies or video games. What does Decide and Write mean? When you are having trouble writing but you know what needs to happen jot some ideas down on quickly, they don’t need to make sense and then write trying to make them work. Who cares if they actually work, if they don’t you can fix it in the second draft. I used this in a scene today, it was in the middle of another scene, I wrote something I know will be removed as my main character from Fall of the God King for NaNo walked over to his bride who I had already told you where she was and told you again after describing the room just to get started. It worked.
        Give it a try and see if that works for you. Play around with it and see if you can make it work with your writing style. I hope this helps and check back on Friday for Weekly Writing Wrap-Up and where I will hopefully be able to say I wrote more then just Sunday and Monday for NaNO!

wpid-isight-2015-11-16-14-23.png

Leave a Reply

