Double Duty

Posted: November 23, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

        Today’s post is going to pull double duty. Just started working a new job and got called into work and just didn’t have time or energy to post Friday. Quick overview of last weeks writing wrap up was mostly just trying to catch up in NaNoWriMo, and continuing to plow a head on Seeing Through the Veil. I got some very cool scene written in The Fall of the God King, and the story is getting good and just being evil through one God King. I am still be behind, but not that much. I could be wrong, but I am maybe on track once I write today. I may need to write more then the 1667 words to do it, but it isn’t that much more. After today we will have only seven days left to hit 50,000 words, I plan to get hit that hopefully by Saturday.
        Seeing Through the Veil, I just crossed the 100k words. This book is first draft is going to be very long as I am still not done with Kiana’s POV and still have her sisters POV to write. The current word count goal for this draft is a 170k, but it will probably ended up hitting over 200k by the time I finished it. I have decided my over word count for this book when it is completely done to be between 85-100k words. My goal is to have Kiana’s POV sections to be about 60-70k and Natalie’s to be between 25-35k words. This will force me to narrow down scenes that are not important, which there aren’t many and to slim down my words per scene. Some of the scenes are very long and while some are important, others is just me ranting on as it is either where I picked up and still warming up or it was thoughts that came to me while writing and seemed important.
        Most are the warm up and it did its job to get my brain warmed up and on track to the story and allowed me to review what is going on. I hate when in books authors constantly remind us what has already happened in the book over and over again. I get it, depending on what kind of book you’re reading, you need to do this. Children’s like Harry Potter, you need to do it as Children had short attention spans and maybe a while since the last time they picked up the book. Constantly reminding them what has happened so they don’t feel lost and keep reading. Young Adult, does the same, but not as much and a few books I have read or listened to the authors did it a little too much for the age. From my experience with teenagers, those who get past the first 50 to a 100 pages are going to keep reading until they finish the book. They aren’t going to put it down for a long period of time. They will go right through the book.

        This brings me to my craft post part. How often should you remind your reader of what has already happened and how space should it take up? This is more of an opinion post then how to. As you read from my last paragraph. I have a few questions.

  • Have you ever noticed when reading when an author does this?
  • Have you thought about this? If not, why?
  • Is this important? Why or why not?
  • Should a writer worry about how much they are reviewing previous events?
  • Based on the reading level for your book, how much review do you think should be done? (This is in general for the age range and yourself)
  • Is there a specific place in the novel this should be done?

        Feel free to answer those questions in the comments or not. They are mostly for you to ask yourself. I personally hate review, but I also know it is important and I think I put in more review then I would like, mostly because it helps me warm up if it is where I left off. Also, I would rather put more in then needed and remove it later on then have to add it in. The reason I don’t like a lot of review is because I think it treats the readers like they are dumb and can’t remember the events. I am not saying that is what authors are doing, it just what I think. For children you need review, but the older your reading level the less you need or the more events that can happened before review is needed. Another pet peeve of mine, is that some authors put it in the worst places. Especially in Young Adults books who use first person. They allow he POV to review and even I do this, but it is also the only way they use it.

        Why not use dialogue? Your POV just leant something new about the plot or plans of the villain and instead of doing in the characters head, they do review in dialogue? Yes, this only works if the person you’re talking to doesn’t know the other information, or they were not the ones who found the new information and the Protagonist did. Through their discussion you can review and show how the new information fits in. Also, it could be away slip in some foreshadowing for a plot twist at the end.

        That is my thoughts, and as much as I do not like a lot of review, it is important. What about you? What are your thoughts on this? How would you answer the questions I posted above? Hope this post gets you thinking about something you really doesn’t get talked about when talking about writing.

wpid-isight-2015-11-23-13-11.png

Leave a Reply

