Welcome to this weeks Craft Post the last of 2015. Well, actually last weeks was the last one for 2015 as this is my year in review post. I am going to look at my yearly goals I set out to achieve this year and see how I did. I will follow this weeks post next weeks with my Writing Goals for 2016. This will probably be an additional post or fill in for my writing wrap up post on Friday not sure. If you’re are new to my blog, and wonder why I am saying goals and not resolutions please read lasts years post on Why New Years Writing Resolutions Are A Waste Of My Time & Yours. I don’t do resolutions for writing or any other area of my life. I thought about re-writing that post again but there is not point.

Let’s jump right into my writing goals for 2015, I only have four of them and if you look to the left of your screen you will see the following. (Only if it is before January 1, 2016. After that my new writing goals will be posted.)

  • Write a 1,000 words 3 days a week.
  • Have something to publish by the end of the year.
  • Write three short films, and film one.
  • Free content for this blog and Review Blog

As I look back on 2015, this was a good year for me writing wise and it is not because I achieved all my writing goals this year. Actually, I only achieved two of them (clearly the ones that are bold). My biggest goal was to go back to the basics that every author or experienced write I have talked to or read says. Write daily. I never learnt that lesson and it was alway spread out and sometimes my months. I wanted to learn this so I set myself a goal of writing a 1000 words for 3 days a week. Yep failed on that for most of the year. It wasn’t until this fall that I actually started writing something and still writing. In that time I went from writing three days a week to seven. Not a 1000 word each day, sometimes other times not. Since October I have written all seven days accept once and that was one week ago from yesterday. I didn’t like that feeling.

The other one was come up with free content for this blog and my review blog. Again, I just started doing that in October, and that was only for this blog. I did post a few reviews on my review blog, but not like I wish. I am still counting it as success. If I went all of 2015 without posting on that blog I wouldn’t. So, in the last three months I have achieved two goals of the four. I don’t have something ready for publication or have I written three short films and filmed one. I did write on short, just not three.

You maybe asking yourself why I think this was a good year of writing if I just achieved my two of my writing goals and barely? I will tell you why, because this year I spent more time developing other projects and discovering my love for other stories I have been wanting to write for years. Marks of Eilira has sucked me dry of all creative and writing desire for years and while I still enjoy that story it was too broken to fix without getting so massive distances from it. Thanks to that, I was able to look at other stories. Now, I know the overall story for my Daemonium series, I got new creative ideas for Forbidden Realm that is going to bring some life to that story in new ways that I never thought it could. I came up with a larger story idea and created my World of Five Worlds and mapped out and I am not writing the first book from my first ever book series Seeing Through the Veil as part of that story arch. My larger story I wanted to write connecting all of my worlds together is finally taking shape in a new way, an awesome way. Most importantly, I am starting to develop a schedule for my writing on how to write a book, and develop another series completely different from it. Something I will need to be able to do if I want to be able to get all my stories I have done in my life time.

Yes, achieving two of my goals I had post are great, especially since around the time I start to write Seeing Through the Veil and posting more, I started to think I was not going to achieve any of them. That was going to be a hard pill to swallow being basically in the same spot I was last year. However, I achieved more goals then I could have possibly posted and have had for a very long time. I wish I had posted more of them, but oh well. Now the task is to come up with new goals for 2016. Trust me I have many, but how many will get posted and how many won’t because I forget them before I write my post.

I hope everyone had a good writing year, and hope as this year comes to a close and you look back on the year, you achieved what you wanted. For those who didn’t, use that feeling of failure/regret/anger whatever you’re feeling and use it to help you do it this year. For those of you have achieved what you wanted and more, use that to keep moving forward in the coming new year. Check back after the New Year for my new writing goals for 2016.

isight-2015-12-27-15-11.png

Comments

Leave a Reply

