Welcome to this week’s, Craft post and the Penultimate in our Magic Systems Series. If you haven’t read any of the other posts in this series you can read by clicking on the numbers:  12, and 3. Last weeks was how I went about how I went about creating the magic systems in my series Forbidden Realm. I revised five systems, and at least three I started from scratch. Today I am going to provide you helpful ways to create your own from various sources across the internet and books or I should book. If you Google the topic of magic systems you will find endless posts on the subject. Not all will be helpful to everyone. I am saving you the trouble and going to give you a list of sights and overview of what they suggest. I don’t completely agree with all the advice these posts give, but neither should you. I personally believe you take the information you can and figure out what works for you. Yes, what you want and think on how Magic should work may not be groundbreaking as you think. As well, readers may not find it believable. There is a reason why,

Today I am going to provide you helpful ways to create your own from various sources across the internet and books or I should book. If you Google the topic of magic systems you will find endless posts on the subject. Not all will be helpful to everyone. I am saving you the trouble and going to give you a list of sights and overview of what they suggest. I don’t completely agree with all the advice these posts give, but neither should you. I personally believe you take the information you can and figure out what works for you. Let’s get started.

How to write Science Fiction and Fantasy by Orson Scott Card. This book is more on world building, but there is a section on magic. I am not going to go into it, as it has been a while since I read it. More importantly, my copy has seemingly disappeared so I can’t skim it if I wanted to. I highly recommend this book not just for magic but for world building. There could be other books out there that tackle magic systems, but I am not aware of any. Search Amazon and see what you can come up with.

Sanderson’s Three Laws of Magic: I have already posted these links in the second post, but I will do this again. 1st Law2nd, and 3rd. I cover these two laws in my first two posts of this series. I am not going to go over them again. They are a good read even if you don’t completely agree with them. If you haven’t read the first two posts, I do for the most part.

How to Create a Believable Magic System: This is one of the many sites I found when I searched Google. The author of this post focus more on aspects of writing for his/her advice. The questions recommend are along the line does it create: suspension, conflict, and others. These are very good questions to ask a part of developing your Magic System. There are five areas he covers and then there are more on what you should know about your system.

How To Worldbuild Magic: Short Rules for Real WorldsAnother good site that has rules you should keep in mind while developing your magic system and what do and not do in your story. The advice here applies to writing in general so if you’re not really interested in magic but writing this page can help.

12 Questions to Ask Yourself About the System of Magic in Your Fantasy NovelI think the title says it all. The questions presented here will help you develop your system as you need to know these things about your magic. Even if you are going to make it more mysterious and wonder then how it works. You as the author needs to know how it works so that you don’t just let anything happen and get blamed for using magic to solve a plothole or to get your characters out of a situation that you can’t figure out how to get them out of.

Creative Uses of Magic in FantasyThis site offer questions to consider while making your magic systems such as limits (Sanders Second Law) Sorry couldn’t help myself. Also suggestions ideas for expanding your ideas on what Magic can look like.

How to Create a Unique Magic System for your Book: I love WikiHow, you can find almost anything on that site. This page offers some ideas and thoughts to think about. It is a good reference page.

World Building: Magic Systems: This site builds more into the reason behind some of what I have posted in this series, but it is going to be the same. Such as Magic should have rules, limits, and so on.

That is all, I could keep giving pages to look at, but I tried to post only pages that have good information on them. I never intended to give you ever resource, but a starting grounds. Personally, the best starting ground is you. Figure out what you want from magic, if you have an idea such as let’s say Eye Color Magic. Jot your ideas out for this until you have nothing else and then look at these sites I have listed and others you find by searching the web. Take the information and go back to your ideas and make the system you want to make.

Just note and this is for more new writers, but experienced ones need to hear it as well. If you are thinking that you don’t need to follow the suggestions I  or other authors and writers are giving because you have your own thoughts on how it can be done, please by all means do what you wish. However, there is a reason why this information is similar and repeated. It works and it is built upon other authors who have tried and failed. Do what you think please, it will be a learning experience and I hope you succeed. However, don’t go bitchen that your readers or professionals you try to get to buy your story don’t find your system believable.

Okay, sorry but I had to say that as being one who thought I was going to change the world of writing when I started, having too big of a head can make you think you don’t need to listen to others advice. Thankfully, I didn’t have that big of a head. Creating a magic system is all about what you want to accomplish with it in your story. That’s all for today, please check back on Monday for my Weekly Writing Wrap-up, and next week for my wrap-up on magic. In two weeks time, I will be starting a new series on World Building.

iSight-2016-03-28-03-57

Leave a Reply

