Weekly Writing Wrap-up; 15,000 words and beyond… Or really only 5321

Posted: August 15, 2016 in Weekly Writing Wrap-Up
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Welcome to this week’s Weekly Writing Wrap-up.  I hope everyone has had a good writing week. This week has been a very interesting week for me and for those of you read this weekly, will understand the title of this week’s wrap-up. For those of you who don’t either you miss a week now and then or you are new. Last week I made a wordcount goal of 15,000 words between editing my novel and writing a short story. As you can see from this title I hit it and beyond…

Yeah right. The only truth in that title is the 5321 at the end. That is my current word count as I am writing this. What happened? That’s a good question. That’s an easy one. I got called for two interviews last week. One for a real job and one for a part time job. I decided to spend my time preparing for the real job interview and thus I only wrote three days this week. Oh, you want to know about the interview and if I got one of the jobs? Actually, the real job interview was only the first basic intro, one. I will hear back from them this week about a second. Yes, I am sure I will get a second interview. The same goes for the part-time job, but they will tell me if I got the job instead of a second interview.

While I didn’t even com close to reaching my word count goal this week, I did achieve a lot. From mapping out, a short story scenes list and started to write that and the words counts are staying low for once. That’s good. I was able to mentally figure out what was wrong with Seeing Through the Veil. Like many new writers, I was starting way too early. What I had in that original first section was cool, but at the same time it was really slow.

In last week’s wrap-up, I mention how I mentioned that I was able to crack the new beginning. Well, I was wrong. I think subconsciously I knew it. Yesterday, I sat down to work on Seeing Through the Veil and walked through the new section one and realized I have to rewrite the whole section. Where it started didn’t work for the new setup and I was not ready to do the work of fixing it. There was another reason I didn’t want to do the work to fix it. The setup I came up with made the exciting incident at the end of the section. I wanted it to end the first chapter. How do you do that and keep the other events of the section that lead up to it?

I figured that out today. Like many people I copied someone else. In this case, I copied Rick Yancy of the 5th Wave Trilogy. No, I didn’t copy his words, I copied how he interwove a lot of backstory in the first few chapters of the first book in the 5th wave trilogy. Cassie gets shot by a Silencer and is bleeding out under a truck on a highway and she thinks about the arrival of the aliens and the first four waves. Popping in and out of the past. I am using that. I have no doubt I am doing it far worst than Yancy did, but after three scenes I like it. The best part about it, is I am keeping them short and sweet.

That leads me to my last thing. I love to write and when I started to write back in 2004 I never thought I could write 70k words. It was one of the reasons I sent a goal to write that many words when I wrote Seeing Through the Veil the first time. Well, back then it was Legend of the Godchild. Ever since then, I have had no problems writing words. Actually, I think I have reversed and gone from writing not enough to too many words. Example Legend of the Godchild was 79,120 words. The first draft of now Seeing Through the Veil was 179,299. That is a 100,179 difference. I have to cut 90k words to get it to 85,000 words by the time I publish this book.

This brings me to this week when I was thinking about how Orson Scott Card is a minimalist writer. What do I mean by that? Go read one of his books and you will see. Almost all of Card’s books are dialogue. He doesn’t give many details in his books and lets the readers picture what he is writing. I am not sure I want to go that far, as I love books that give me enough to get a picture of what I am supposed to be seeing. So, this got me thinking. What if I only use the absolute fewest words I possibly can to describe anything. Sure, some scenes need more, but I can always add them in.

Bestselling author K.M. Weiland likes to say she would rather have more words than not enough words. I agree with her, because if you struggle with writing, it means, even more, work after you finished the first draft that you need to add more.Weiland is talking about adding scenes when she says adding words. In my case, I am talking about more words to describe what is already. So I don’t think this will affect me. So, that is what I am trying to do, write action and description of settings and characters with as few words as possible.

That’s all fo this week, check back next week. No, I am not going to give a goal to accomplish this week as I need to prepare for another interview or start working. Check back on Friday for the next post in our ongoing sub-series on Religions. We just wrapped up gods element and this week we will be talking about the purposes of religions. Note to anyone who is very religious, I will be covering what Religions has done in the past and now and it could be offensive. I am not going to be poking fun at or trying to disprove what different religions believe, just looking at different purpose religions serve.

I hope everyone has a good writing week.

iSight-2016-03-28-03-57

Leave a Reply

