Welcome to a short series I will be posting every Wednesday for the month of October. It is to help anyone to prepare for National Novel Writing Month that starts November 1st. Normally, I write each post the day or two before I post it like for my Weekly Craft Posts on Friday. You should check those out too. I only know the topic of those post right before I write them. That is not how it is going to work with these four posts. I am going to tell you the topics of all four posts right now.

Week one: or in this post, I will talk about NaNoWriMo and how to start to prepare.

Week two: we will take what we start this week and expand it.

Week three: is all about characters.

Week four: is scene’s list, finish what is needed and review.

Ready? Good. Let’s get started.

What is NaNoWriMo? Or National Novel Writing Month? Well, I think I just answered that question. However, let’s take a little deeper look. Like other months, November has been declared a national time to write a novel. Like National Breast Cancer Awareness month is October. February is Black History month. If you always wanted to write a novel but never had the time? Well, November is the perfect time to do it.

NaNoWriMo.Org is a website where you can join, create a novel for this year and participate. The goal of NaNo is to get writers to write. That’s it. You don’t need to join the website to take part, but if you do and win, (which I will get to in a minute), you get free stuff. Like what you ask? Go to the website and find out. Usually, there is a  site that will give you a printed copy of your book. There are other things as well.

How do you win? That is easy. All you have to do is write 50,000 words by midnight of November 30th. Like I said, the goal is to get writers to write. There are other challenges you can do during it. Like the 5-day challenge. That is 10,000 word a day.  Word wars, where you set a timer to go off in ten minutes and whoever has the most words wins. Part of participating is there are regions all across the country where people meet up at coffee shops or bookstores or Denny’s and write. It is a load of fun.

Now that you know what NaNoWriMo is, and have decided to write a novel. Now, what? That is completely up to you. If this is your first time writing a novel, I would recommend you plan your novel out in advanced. Why? When November 1st comes up and you sit down to write, and suddenly you have no idea where to start, you will understand. I know that there are many people who write by the seat of their pants. However, I recommend this path for someone who never written a novel see if it works.

Okay, you are going to plan out your novel. Wanna know how to start? I sure you do. For this week, I want you do spend some time thinking of some ideas. Write them down, keep them in your head. It doesn’t matter how you do it, just do it. Once you have an idea for a story that you like, I want you to do one thing. Write out the plot of your story in one sentence.  One sentence, are you kidding me!!! You might be thinking. Nope. No details are needed. Just the base idea of your novel. Here, I will give you mine tagline:

Estranged twin sisters meet up and fight only to realize they have a common enemy and to stop him.

This may not be all that interesting, probably because I just wrote it. However, it does cover the plot of the novel. I will spend sometime tweaking it, but it works for now. That is all you need to do this week. Next week, I will show you how to take that sentence and build a whole novel around it.

If you have never been to my blog before, and like this post. You may be interested in my other posts. On Friday’s I post a Craft Post every week. We have been going through a long series on Worldbuilding. You can get caught up by going to the Worldbuilding link in the tool bar. It will give you all the sub-series we have covered thus far. This week, we will be covering the second post in our Civiliazations sub-series.

iSight-2016-03-28-03-57

Leave a Reply

