Welcome to this week’s Weekly Writing Wrap-up, today ends week 2 of NaNoWriMo. Day 15 is tomorrow. Wednesday there will be only 15 days left. I have a special post planned for Wednesday on that. With that, let’s jump right into everything.

I am going to start with the bad part of the week. No, I’m not talking about the results of the Presidental Election. I am talking about draft 2.1. I got some work done on it this week, but nowhere close to what I would have liked. It turns out that writing two different stories at the same time for the first is actually easier than writing a story and editing a different at the same time. Can’t tell you how many times on Seeing Through the Veil and Forbidden Realm Book 1 Pyre I have reversed the POV. I used the third person on the veil and present tense on pyre. I quickly catch myself, but it is frustrating. Good news is I am very close to closing out the section. It is getting better, but struggling solely trying to write two very different things.

Good news is I am very close to closing out the section. It is getting better, but struggling solely trying to write two very different things. My goal for Seeing Through the Veil is to close out the section I am working on. Possibly the section after since it is a shorter section as well. The section I am on is more important right now than the one that follows. Moving on.

Pyre is coming along well. After today, I will hit the 23333 words needed to be done stay on track to finish by November 30th. As things are going right now, it shouldn’t be a long sprint at the end to win. Unlike it usually is. I think the reason is that I am more prepared for this story than other in the past that I have just concocted last minute for NaNo. Also, having spent a good portion of the last year writing has also helped. It is true the more you write the easier it gets. However, that doesn’t mean there won’t be bad days or times when it gets hard.

I am about to close out my first section, probably tomorrow. That will make the first section about 25k. Since my overall word count for this book is 250k, that’s not bad. However, I still have another major POV character to introduce so this draft might end up being closer to 300 to 325k by the time I am done. I am not worried about word count on this book. This trilogy is meant to be an epic-length so 300k fits that. Of course, editing will cut that down, but that is way in the future. I’ll keep you posted.

Finally, I am sitting down and starting to work on the magic systems of the Gathering. This will be the next series I develop. Or like every series so far redevelop. I made some great progress working on the magic systems for this series. Looking back at my original ideas for the magic in this trilogy and what I changed it to when I started to revamp the first time. Very different, but the same. Having read more fantasy and study on magic systems, I am far better prepared to do work on the eight magic systems in this series.

Some might think I am falling into the trap of too many magic systems in a story. Yes, I could be, but I also know the story and it requires that many. The key is to not overload the readers with all of them at once. The story is looking to be about six books right now. The first trilogy is focused on six of the eight which you slowly learn about all them throughout the books. The second trilogy is about the final two of the eight. I am still in the early stages of development, so all this could change. Highly unlikely, though.

I will say this in closing, Seeing Through the Veil, Forbidden Realm, and The Gathering have all been series I have started years ago and reworking. When I am done with developing the Gathering, it may be time to develop another series from scratch. Time will tell, but we will see.

That’s all I got today. Remember to check back on Wednesday for our special Half Way Point NaNoWriMo post. Friday will be the final post in our Economics post after I added a post to the sub-series. I hope everyone out there is doing well writing. For those who are participating in NaNoWriMo, keep it up.

 

iSight-2016-03-28-03-57

 

Leave a Reply

