Welcome to my delayed NaNoWriMo 2016 post. I forgot all about this post yesterday. I was in the middle of finishing a certification for my job and then got called in. Anyway, my NaNo was a very interesting experience.

screen-shot-2016-12-02-at-10-19-35-am screen-shot-2016-12-02-at-10-18-39-am screen-shot-2016-12-02-at-10-20-11-am
NaNo 2013 NaNo 2015 NaNo 2016

The charts from the three years I won. 2013 and 2016 have a lot in common. I knew more about these books than I did about the book I was writing last in 2015. It’s funny to me that while I know more about my book I start off slowly barely or don’t meet the daily word count yet finish with a spike. By the way, Scrivener said I had only a few words over 50k. When I submitted it NaNo word count confirmation said I had over 57k. That’s okay. Just means fewer words I have to write after Nano now as I continue to write Pyre.

I will say, this year I had a lot of distractions that you can see right around day 16 through day 22. Funny how that is right after I posted my half way point post. I got through it and I am still enjoying the story. Especially figuring our my characters. A surprise character for me is Ariel. She has an important role, but not the main character. She has come to life after I got some real life inspiration for her. Maybe I will have to let her live now… Ops! Spoilers… Not really. That would mean someone would survive one of those every dies at the end stories. Crap! I did it again… Or did I. Anyway, it is a delight to write another character beyond my two lovely leading ladies. I can’t wait to get to some of my classic character I have planned for this story over a decade ago.

My biggest struggle for this year’s NaNo was simply trying to figure out how my magic systems would work. Having seven that will appear in the trilogy and knowing how a few of them will look and work is one thing. Having one of the first to appear, not knowing how practical it will be for characters who are learning will work but know the larger picture was a challenge. I do enjoy what I am discovering. Thanks to this discovery I am finding out new ways for characters to use this system for when they get stronger and how their fighting styles will be different from others.

That’s all I got. Before I got I want to send out and congrats to all who participated in NaNoWriMo regardless if you reached 50k or not. Writing isn’t easy, though the perception of it is that it is easy. I tell people who are new to writing or have been writing for some time, the point of NaNoWriMo is to get you to write daily. If you can walk away from this writing every day even if it was just a hundred words that’s great.  I also say set your own word count goal. Some people it needs to be something really easy to reach the first time. That way the next goal will be just a little more challenging. I do say that it is best to pick a goal that is going to be challenging but still possible to do. Let’s face 50,000 words is a lot of words. For those of you who did win, great keep plugging away at your novel, if you haven’t completed it yet. Don’t forget if you’re are done to take the December revision pledge to go over your novel and make it better.

Check back later today for my Craft Post. This post was supposed to be it, but I remembered I was supposed to do it. I will post that craft post in a few hours. Until then. Check back on Monday’s for my Weekly Writing Wrap-up.

iSight-2016-03-28-03-57

 

Leave a Reply

