Writing Goals for 2017

Posted: January 1, 2017 in Uncategorized

Welcome to the first post of 2017 coming to you special on New Years Day. I was going to post this tomorrow since Monday’s are when I normally post my Weekly Wrap-up, but since this post is taking that posts place this week, I figured why not just post it on New Years Day instead. This post is going to be my goals for 2017, well the goals I have now. Before I get ahead of myself, let me be very clear this is not a New Years Resolution post. I hate New Years Resolutions. If you want to know why, Why Writing New Year Resolutions are a Waste of My Time and Yours is a post I wrote back in December of 2014. No reason to re-write the same post over and over again.

If you read last weeks 2016 Year in Review and Goals for 2016 then you know that I like to post my goals in bullets. In the actual goals post, I then went into further details on my goals. It worked well last year, so I think I will continue with it. (Note: I will be posting these goals under my writing goals on the left, unlike last year.)

  • New Writing Schedule
  • Finish Draft 2 of Seeing Through the Veil
  • Finish Draft 1 of Pyre (Book 1 of Forbidden Realm)
  • Develop my Multiverse
  • Develop The Gathering Series
  • Get feedback from Seeing Through the Veil
  • Writing Journal
  • Break 1,500,000 Words Written (Optional)

That may not seem like many goals, especially since forming a new writing schedule can be done in a day or more likely a few hours. These are just the goals I have right now. More goals may pop up as the year goes by. At that time I will update this, but I don’t want to overload myself with too many goals and not be able to achieve them. With that said, let’s go more depth of these goals, starting from the top.

New Writing Schedule/Finish Draft 2.1 of Seeing Through the Veil

Screen Shot 2015-11-30 at 7.26.20 AM

Several years ago I came up with the Writing Schedule picture to the left. It was my way to help get myself to write daily and developing my other series while editing my work.  I never really actually used it. That schedule was based on if I didn’t have to go to work. At the time I was looking for work and new if I started to use it and got a job I would have to change again. I didn’t want to do that, especially since at that time I could have found a new job at any time.

Last year I started using my calendar on my iMac since I could just plug my work hours in when I got them and schedule around them. It worked for a while, but since one of my jobs was stationary and the other were random it didn’t go over that well. Even when I only had one job and while it was not locked hours or days, I did get my schedule at least two weeks out. That helped, but it didn’t work well finding a specific time daily to write.

Now that I have locked hours that don’t change, it is the best time now to come up with a new writing schedule. In my last Writing Wrap-up before the year in review, I realize I am unable to develop, edit and write. I did hardly editing done on Seeing Through the Veil while NaNoWriMo was going on. So, that is my priority right now and then return to Pyre (Book 1 of Forbidden Realm). I may try to work in a time to write Pyre, but until I am at least 75% done with editing of Seeing Through the Veil, I will be focusing on editing and Developing.

Draft 1 of Pyre 

Kind of covered this already, but with just a chapter or two from finishing the second section of the book when I wrapped NaNoWriMo, I have yet to touch the book since. Mostly, due to work schedule changing, and the need to work on Seeing Through the Veil. Pyre is going to be a very long book, I already know that. My target word count is 250,000 words. That doesn’t mean I am going to write until I hit that word count or go over it. I base that on the scene list and it is a very long scene list. I would love for the book to be shorter, but it is supposed to be an epic, so I am okay if it is that long or longer. I wouldn’t want it to be much, but editing will cut it down. Once I am done with editing Seeing Through the Veil, I will be focusing all my writing time on Pyre. Depending on when I pick it back up, I will set a six months time to get it written. Hopefully, that will be by the end of January, but who knows at the moment.

Developing the Multiverse

 While I am editing Seeing through the Veil, I will be spending my developing time on finally hammering out my Multiverse and the story I will be ultimately telling. I have a lot of ideas floating around in my head that I need to figure out. The most important of this development is figuring out how all the series I have at different stages of development fit the story, if they do. I may come up with new ideas for new stories to fit in. After working on this multiverse here and there over the years, I am happy to finally have a solid direction that I know I can follow and build upon and get the picture clear in my mind. This development may be a year long development, but if that is what is needed then that is what I need to do.  Which leads me to…

Developing the Gathering

The Gathering was going to be the next series I was going to revamp, and while I came up with a few new directions for the series, I got blocked my the ideas for the Multiverse being more prominent than ideas for the Gathering. So, this series takes the back seat to my Multiverse development. I may not even get to this series at all this year if my Multiverse development takes the whole year. I hope it doesn’t as I do want to develop an actual series that will be written this year. If I don’t get to develop this series this year it will be the next one I develop next year. Well, if it works out. By then another series may jump up and down in my head. Until that happens the Gathering is next on the list to be developed.

Get feedback from Seeing Through the Veil

Once I get done with the editing of Seeing Through the Veil, the next step is feedback. I know already after this round of editing there is nothing I can make it better without feedback. My plan is to get a few readers to get feedback. Also, I want to send it to an editor to get professional feedback on. I have heard pros and cons about paying for a critique. The way I look at it is as seeing what I am doing well and what I am not. Then see what I can improve that I did okay and remove what I am doing bad and put it in a way that works with my strengths. I am not sure when I will be able to do the editor portion since it is pricey to do.

Writing Journal

I have had a writing journal for years that I rarely lose. Mostly, because I have so many other journals I use for specific projects. Also, a lot of the thoughts I would put in that journal I post on this blog in my weekly wrap-up. However, there are things I can’t write due to spoilers or ideas that I may or may not use. I think I am going to make it a priority to write in it once a month on what I am working on each month and new directions. Even if I am going to repeat some of the thoughts here on this blog I am okay.

It has bugged me for years that I don’t write in it more. So that will change. Not sure what I am going to write in it half the time, but I am usually good at figuring that out. If I end up writing in it more than once a month, that will be great. If it I stick just to once a month I am fine with that. I know that the more I write in it the more I will figure out the purpose it will serve me.

Break 1,500,000 Words

I have already written over One Million words. My last checking, I am at 1,300,000 some odd words. However, that is not taking in where my Editing for Seeing Through the Veil is up to and the words I have written for Pyre. So, it maybe closer to 1,400,000 words. At some point, I will update it and see how close I am to 1,500,000 words. If I am closer than I think, I may push this goal up. However, there is a reason why it is optional. I would like to reach it, but it is one of those goals if I get to it, that is awesome. It is more of a bonus goal instead of an actual goal.

That’s all for my goals for 2017, so far. What are your writing goals for the New Year? No Writing Wrap-up tomorrow, but here will be one next week. There will be a new Craft post on Friday. I still have no idea what it will be on, but I have some ideas.

signature2017

Leave a Reply

