Weekly Writing Wrap-up: Break Edition

Posted: March 22, 2017 in Weekly Writing Wrap-Up
Tags: , , , , ,

Welcome to the last two weeks of Weekly Writing Wrap-up. It has been over two weeks since my last actual post (I don’t count posts that say I won’t be posting something). Why haven’t I been posting? That’s a good question. One, I didn’t do much in those two weeks and had nothing to say. I know me, have nothing to say. Ha! Another reason I wasn’t feeling good. Oversleeping and going through withdraw from my latest soda binge, which really means I had soda and energy drinks for few days and stopped. Not to mention fighting off a cold. Then there was being wiped out mentally.

What do I mean by that? I won’t only once, on the 7th. What should have been a shorter scene turned out to be a longer and harder scene to write. Not sure why it was an emotional scene for my POV character but also a dangerous scene as she needed to get out of a not so safe building. Maybe it should have been split up into two chapters or two scenes. I am not sure. After writing that scene I was mentally beat. All desire to write was gone. So I didn’t write. I have yet to write this week, but I plan to change that, once I finish this post.

Maybe I need a break and let my mind ponder on somethings before I could continue. Who knows, but I still don’t feel like writing. Probably because I am still trying to wake up or still trying to fight off a cold. Whatever the reason is, I need to get back on track. Maybe one of the reasons I am struggling is because I am putting too much pressure on myself to get on a schedule to write multiple books in a year, as well to develop other books when I am not even published. It is something I need to consider. Not worry as much on being on that schedule yet and allow more non-writing activities into my life. Only time will tell.

The most important thing I need to do is keep writing. I have enough projects and at a point where I can be writing consistently now. I can always write book two of the Veil trilogy or book 2 of Forbidden Realm. Hell, I could alway go back to Marks of Eilira… No, no I can’t. That series in a terrible mess. While I can continue to develop my other series I don’t need to have another series ready to go by the time I finish my next book. I have other things I can be writing and editing. Maybe I will lighten my load for a little bit and see how that goes.

As for developing, it is official, Long Live is on the God side of the multiverse. While I am trying to figure out that world, I am going to start hammering out the outline as it’s nagging me now. I even wrote out bullets the other day. I took the key events for the four main characters at the beginning of the book. One issue with the old outline is there are too many things happening before getting right to the main conflict. I should say one of the main conflicts of the book. Once I got a good grasp on the story, that will help developing the world better.

That’s all I got to day. Be sure to check back on Friday as we will be starting a new sub-series in our on going Worldbuilding series. This new sub-series will be on Magic and Technology. I am not sure how many posts will be in this topic. I can tell you there will be only two more sub-series after that. If I had to guess it would be three posts in each. Then we will move on to a new series… a much shorter series.

Leave a Reply

