Welcome to this week’s Weekly Writing Wrap-up. Before I go any further I realized soon after I posted last week’s wrap-up, I never explained my title of 736205. That was how many days have roughly have passed since January 1st, 0001 CE to last Monday. I am probably wrong, but if you take 2017 x 365 and add how many days have passed since January 1st of this year and that’s what you get. Moving on.

I guess I should go through my goals from last week. Alright. This should be quick. I wrote exactly… Oh, wait I should post what the goals were. Yes, that will buy some time. Writing Goals

Writing Goals: Write 3 days with a $ 75 fine if I didn’t 3 hours of PS4 playtime. Write 3500 words. Stretch Goals: Write 5 days for 4 hours of PS4 playtime reward. 30 mins additional play time for every 500 words over wordcount goal. Development Goals: Spend two days of developing with a reward of 1 hour PS4 playtime. Spend at least one day on Superhero Epic with a $20 spending reward. Read Secret Wars. Stretch Goals: An extra of development with 1 hour of PS4 playtime reward. Write three character motivations for Superhero Epic with 4 hours PS4 playtime reward. Finally, finish Long Live Arcs for the whole book/series earns me 10 hours of PS4 playtime.

That didn’t waste all that much time. What else can I bring up to do just that? Ah! Religion and Politics. So, I don’t know where anyone falls, but if you don’t… Nope, can’t do it. This is about writing and not Politics or religion. Well unless I am talking about Worldbuilding than okay. I guess I have to spill the beans.

I wrote a total of four days…

Ta Dah! Got you. You actually thought I was going to say I didn’t do anything… Wait, you didn’t think that. Okay, I failed as a writer.

Wow! That was a terrible failed joke. Anyway, I wrote four days last week. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to 3500 words. That’s okay because right now I care more about writing every day then word count. Soon, that will change. The real win is that I finally finished Section 3. This is the section I have mostly been working on since I started writing Pyre book 1 of the Forbidden Realm Trilogy. Other than a scene or two in section two. This is where I have been spending my time. I am through it and I love how it came out. To a point. I had to pull a few scenes from section 5 to make the section end on a better note, but I am glad I did.

As of yesterday, Sunday, I am working on Section 4. I forced myself to write solely because it was a new section and was going to be hard to get myself to write at all this week if I didn’t start yesterday. I only plan to write a few words but had an end point where I could stop in the scene that is a good stopping point and can pick up today with relative ease. The goal was only supposed to be two maybe three hundred words, turned into six hundred words. Not bad.

The story is moving forward and I look forward to being away from Taryn for a little while and be dealing with Emily’s section. Hopefully not for nearly another three months. I want to have this book done by September. I didn’t reach any of my writing stretch goals and would have if I didn’t get distracted again on Saturday by my PS4. Oh well and other things.

Development is going strong, beyond reading Secret Wars last night, I didn’t get anything done on my Superhero Epic. I think this is going to be scratched from the goals for now, beyond reading Secret Wars. As for Long Live, I spent three days of Development. One last Monday, and One yesterday actually pushing forward in the last stretches of the story on Outline 2. Still not done with it even after today. I am getting there. I spent I think Tuesday feeding the already arcs into the Scrivener file and making a few tweaks here and there.

My concern over this book not being a single book and being more of a series is ever truer. If you didn’t catch my references above about the finishing the arcs for the entire book/series remark. Well Ha! Yes, the more I work the more I feel it may turn into a series. I don’t want that and while I am still not even close to being able to make that decision, it would be wrong not to voice those concerns. I will look at the possibility once all the arcs are finished from all three outlines and complete the scene list for one book. At that time I feel like I need to break it up into more books I will, or after I write the book I will do that. Not until I can’t deny that it is possible to tell this story in a less condensed way.

No fines this week and with 5 hours of playtime reward, I think I am going to go play some PS4.

Wait! I need to post this week’s goals.

Writing Goals:

  • Write 3 Days (Fine$75. Reward 2 hours of PS4 Playtime)
  • 3500 wordcount

Stretch Goals:

  • Write 5 Days (4 hours of PS4 playtime)
  •  Every 500 words beyond 3500. (30 min additional PS4 Playtime reward)

Development Goals:

  • Spend two days developing. (Reward 1 hour of Ps4 Playtime)
  • Read a few pages from Secret Wars

Stretch Goals:

  • An extra day of developing (1 hour of Ps4 Playtime for each day.)

Note: Playtime is for the week or one really awesome day.

Wow! That’s nothing like it has been. Why are you trying to cheat on the goals this week?

Good question. I am going back to my hometown Friday until next Monday. While I will be able to work on developing, I won’t be able to write. Well, I could, but I don’t like writing on Scrivener App on my iPad. It isn’t the same as being on an actual computer. Also, I am trying to learn programming languages, no not Swift anymore… Well, not now. I am moving more of Web Base languages, solely that is where my background is in. I knew HTML very well years ago before it became HTML 5. If this was just going to be a refresher thing, I wouldn’t change how my goals are working, but it is more of a career thing. I love working for Planet Fitness, and plan to bench up to Assistant and then Manager, how long I will want to do this? I don’t know. Learning programming will give me a viable alternative if I decide I don’t want to do that until I get published and can make a living writing. I need to carve out time to do this. So, that is what I am going to do. Writing and developing are the keys a few days a week. Writing I am still going to be doing every day, eventually. Still building it up slowly.

That’s all I got this week. There will be a Craft Post on Friday, it is scheduled to post one minute after Midnight. Check back then for a post on the First 50 Pages.

 

Leave a Reply

